CountriesKnowledge Hubs
Data & Tools
Region AtlasMajor ProjectsPPP Pipeline & AwardsLive tendersWhere to find live tendersTariffs & cost benchmarksOrganization DirectoryMarketsIntelligenceStoriesCalendarAbout

Aden Desalination

Seawater desalination, process not specified in the sources, 10,000 m3/day in phase 1 in Yemen.

Planned

The record

Country
Yemen
Location
Aden
Coordinates
—
Technology
Seawater desalination, process not specified in the sources
Capacity
10,000 m3/day in phase 1
Capital cost
—
Stage
Planned
Owner or client
Local Water and Sanitation Corporation, Aden
Contractor
—
Operator
—
Finance
Saudi Development and Reconstruction Program for Yemen
Award or start year
2023
Commissioned
—

Record last checked 2026-09-18.

History

Sources

4 references

Every field in the record above is taken from the references below. A field that none of them confirms prints as a dash.

  1. Asharq Al-Awsat, Saudi Arabia to enhance Aden's drinking water supply through desalination plant (25 May 2023). english.aawsat.com.
  2. The Saudi Development and Reconstruction Program for Yemen is to establish a desalination plant in Aden with a capacity of 10,000 cubic meters; Minister of Water and Environment Tawfiq Al-Sharjabi met a delegation from the Saudi General Authority for Desalination and an SDRPY team on project data, studies and sites.
  3. Arab News, Saudi-backed projects boost reconstruction, services in Yemen's Aden (1 Aug 2026). arabnews.com.
  4. MENA Water Review major projects register and PPP pipeline — compiled from procurer publications, development-bank project pages and trade reporting; each record names its source.

Project officials said the first phase would produce about 10,000 cubic meters a day and would be implemented by Saudi Emar Construction and Development Co; Aden's Local Water and Sanitation Corporation director-general and the al-Buraiqa district director-general inspected the proposed site behind the al-Hiswa power station. These two outlets share the same by-lined copy and are treated as one source. No contract award, tender, cost, coordinates or process technology has been published, so the contractor is recorded as intended rather than awarded and is left out of the row.